A Prayer Before Sleep

watchers_in_the_night_canvas 

Holy Father, Guardian of the Night,

Shepherd of the Lost Flock,

You who have watched over all the hours of this day,

Stay with me tonight.

Bring me peace and restful sleep.

Bless my dreams with serenity.

 

Holy Spirit, protect my mind from those

who would cause me trouble.

Protect my soul from those who seek

To burrow deep while my guard is down.

 

Blessed Father, surround me with Angels

To both guide my nocturnal travels

and to stand guard

over my sleeping form.

Dearest brother, True Son of the Father,

hold my hand while I enter the other worlds

and stay closely by my side.

Give me strength to battle the demons

who seek to disturb my peace. 

Arm me with Your Sword and Shield

so that even in my dreams ~

I may remember All

that You have taught me and

All that You have promised.

Thank you for Your protection.  Thank you for your love.

Most glorious and powerful Lord of All, 

Amen.

Sister Abhidheya

 

About V.L.M.

Author, Editor, Poet, Composer, Environmental Activist, Spiritual Activist
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

